Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock Book Review

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Published: August 13th, 2013

Publisher: Little, Brown

Pages: 288

Synopsis:

Today is Leonard Peacock’s birthday. It is also the day he hides a gun in his backpack. Because today is the day he will kill his former best friend, and then himself, with his grandfather’s P-38 pistol.

But first he must say good-bye to the four people who matter most to him: his Humphrey Bogart-obsessed next-door neighbor, Walt; his classmate, Baback, a violin virtuoso; Lauren, the Christian homeschooler he has a crush on; and Herr Silverman, who teaches the high school’s class on the Holocaust. Speaking to each in turn, Leonard slowly reveals his secrets as the hours tick by and the moment of truth approaches.

In this riveting look at a day in the life of a disturbed teenage boy, acclaimed author Matthew Quick unflinchingly examines the impossible choices that must be made—and the light in us all that never goes out.

My Thoughts:

This was such an emotional read that I enjoyed every second of.

This was my first book by Mathew Quick, and I will definitely be reading more from him soon. He writes about mental illness in such a realistic way and because of that, I think that everybody needs to read this book.

I found myself on such a rollercoaster ride of emotions as I was reading. There were times that I laughed and times that I cried throughout the book. The main character is very relatable in his emotions of growing up and becoming an adult, but I also loved that the author did not skirt around his mental illness and just make him seem misunderstood. He was actually very sick and did and said strange things that portrayed that well. I loved everyone of the side characters as well and thought they were all well developed.

The book is written over the course of one day, but the author does a great job at providing a lot of back story through footnotes. At first I thought the long footnotes were odd and would detract from the story, but they actually added a lot to the story and I loved them. I also loved how the author went back and forth in time but did it in a way that was never confusing and the story flowed really well. The only complaint that I have about the book is that I wish it had answered more questions. I was left wondering what happened next and wish that the author would have continued the story a little bit more, but I did enjoy the book overall.

Every single teenager should read this book. I think that it would very helpful for anyone that is depressed and/or lonely since it depicts those feelings so well. It is also a great book for anyone overall since it can provide a deeper understanding of mental illness and what to look out for in other people.

4 Stars / 5 Stars

 

Leave a Reply

